Title VIII of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (the Payment, Clearing and Settlement Supervision Act of 2010) has the purpose of mitigating financial risk in the financial system and promoting financial stability by giving the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve authority to set risk management standards for entities that have been designated as systemically important financial utilities by the Financial Stability Oversight Council (FSOC). On July 18, FSOC designated the following eight entities as being systemically important utilities:

  • The Clearing House Payments Company, L.L.C., on the basis of its role as operator of the Clearing House Interbank Payments System
  • CLS Bank International
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange, Inc.
  • The Depository Trust Company
  • Fixed Income Clearing Corporation
  • ICE Clear Credit LLC
  • National Securities Clearing Corporation
  • The Options Clearing Corporation

Further information may be found here.