On July 28, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission and four Canadian provinces or territories signed counterparts to a memorandum of understanding (MOU) designed to promote the cooperation and exchange of information with regard to entities operating on a cross-border basis between the United States and Canada. The Government of the Northwest Territories, the Nunavut Department of Justice, the Prince Edward Island Government and the Yukon Government joined the MOU, which was originally executed in 2014 by the CFTC, the Alberta Securities Commission, the British Columbia Securities Commission, the Ontario Securities Commission, and the Québec Autorité des marchés financiers. The Financial and Consumer Services Commission (New Brunswick), the Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan, and the Nova Scotia Securities Commission also are signatories to the MOU. The MOU allows information sharing with respect to regulated markets, organized trading platforms, central counterparties, trade repositories, intermediaries, dealers and other market participants that are, or have applied to be, authorized or otherwise overseen by one of the signatories to the MOU.

The CFTC’s press release is available here.